Product Details:
  Report No. 116 - Limitation of Exposure to Ionizing Radiation (Supersedes NCRP Report No. 91) (1993)
  Formats Available: hardcopy, electronic (downloadable PDF)
Price:   $ 35.00   hardcopy
    $ 28.00   PDF (20% discount off hardcopy)             
  * $ 59.50   hardcopy & PDF
    * Includes an additional 10% discount off the hardcopy price
ISBN 0-929600-30-4
Category:   Reports

Executive Summary:
Report No. 116 (1993) is the latest in the long series of reports on basic radiation protection criteria that began in 1934. It supersedes the predecessor in the series, NCRP Report No. 91, which was published in 1987. The current Report takes advantage of new information, evaluations and thinking that have developed since 1987, particularly the risk estimate formulations set out in Report No. 115. While the recommendations set out in this Report do not constitute a radical revision of the basic criteria, they do represent a refinement of the system enunciated in Report No. 91. Important changes include the utilization of revised tissue/organ weighting factors and the introduction of radiation weighting factors. Also noteworthy is the introduction of an allowable reference level of intake. Noteworthy too is the recommendation of an age-based lifetime limit for control of occupational exposures and a major simplification of limits aimed at controlling the exposure of the embryo and fetus. This Report, after outlining the goals and philosophy of radiation protection and the basis for exposure limits, goes on to review, in some detail, absorbed dose, equivalent dose, radiation weighting factors, and effective dose. Committed equivalent dose and committed effective dose are also introduced. Risk estimates for radiation exposure are presented and then the dose limits are enunciated. The Report also covers exposure in excess of the limits, limits for unusual occupational situations, guidance for emergency occupational exposure, and remedial action levels for naturally occurring radiation.
Excerpts and Related Information:
Table of Contents
  Scientific Committee:
Charles B. Meinhold, Chairman
Seymouur Abrahamson
S. James Adelstein
Willaim J. Bair
John D. Boice, Jr.
R.J. Michael Fry
Eric J. Hall
Edward W. Webster
Warren K. Sinclair, Advisor
  Quantity of PDF